## Police Accountability Board (Thursday, August 15, 2024)

Generated by LEGAL ACCPAB on Monday, August 19, 2024

#### **Members** present

Nickolas Cromwell Leslie Everett John Lydon Dr Linda Lymas Charles Shilling Bruen Kidd Jenna Aubert

John Sterling Houser, Deputy County Attorney Gillian Bacon, Legal Assistant, II Lt. Joshua Krum, SMCSO Representative

Via Zoom Michelle Dowleyne

Meeting called to order at 6:30 PM

# 1. CALL TO ORDER

Call to Order: A. Call to Order

Nickolas Cromwell, Chair, called the August 15, 2024 meeting of the Police Accountability Board to order at 6:30pm Chesapeake Building Meeting Room, Governmental Center.

# 2. ROLL CALL

Roll Call, Action, Roll Call: A. Approval of Agenda I move to approve the submitted agenda.

Motion by Charles Shilling, second by Leslie Everett. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Nickolas Cromwell, Michelle Dowleyne, Leslie Everett, John Lydon, Dr Linda Lymas, Charles Shilling, Bruen Kidd, Jenna Aubert

## 3. NEW BUSINESS

Discussion: A. Welcoming of New Member Jenna Aubert was appointed to the PAB, with a term of office beginning July 1. She replaces departing member Frank Kauffman.

Discussion, New Business: B. Review of ACC Disposition

Nickolas Cromwell, Chairman, gave a brief summary of the Administrative Charging Committee's disposition of investigatory files #23-07 (OPR2023-4174) and #23-08 (OPR2023-4696) to the Board. The Chairman along with St. Mary's County Sheriff's Office Representative, Lt. Joshua Krum, took questions regarding these case files from PAB member, Charles Shilling.

Discussion: C. Police Executive Research Forum Report - Implementation of the Maryland Police Accountability Act of 2021 The Board reviewed the following discussion topics:

- The Police Executive Research Forum ("PERF") Report, finalized in June of 2024.
- Updates to how the Maryland Police Accountability Act of 2021 has been implemented.
- How the letter from the Office of the Attorney General, issued on April 18, 2023, could affect how St. Mary's County determines which cases of police misconduct are within the purview of the St. Mary's County Administrative Charging Committee.

#### 4. ADJOURN

Action: A. Motion to Adjourn I move to adjourn the August 15, 2024 meeting of the Police Accountability Board.

Motion by Nickolas Cromwell, second by John Lydon. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Nickolas Cromwell, Michelle Dowleyne, Leslie Everett, John Lydon, Dr Linda Lymas, Charles Shilling, Bruen Kidd, Jenna Aubert

Meeting was adjourned at 7:27 PM.